Best Electric & Battery Snow Blower in Canada (2026)
Specs checked September 15, 2026 · Version française
A cordless snow blower now clears a suburban driveway as well as a gas machine does, and it starts on the first pull of a trigger at −20 °C. The question is no longer whether electric works in a Canadian winter. It is which format matches your driveway — and how many batteries the machine actually needs, which is where most of the money hides.
The short answer
- Steps, a balcony, a front walk — a 12-inch cordless snow shovel.
- Short driveway near an outdoor outlet — a corded 120 V single-stage.
- One-car driveway, normal snow — a cordless single-stage, 18 to 21 inches.
- Large driveway or a plow ridge at the end — a cordless two-stage, 24 inches, and budget for two or three batteries.
How we picked, and what we did not do: we have not bench-tested these machines. Every specification on this page is quoted from the manufacturer’s own Amazon.ca listing, checked September 15, 2026, and every model was confirmed in stock in Canada that day. Links to Amazon are affiliate links — BranchéQC may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. We do not publish prices by hand; the Amazon page is what counts.
Does a battery snow blower actually work in a Canadian winter?
Yes, if you pick the right format. Cordless two-stage machines are built for wet snow and for the ridge a plow leaves across the end of a driveway; with two large packs they finish a normal storm on a big driveway. Single-stage machines suit a one-car driveway and light to moderate snow, but they labour in very wet snow and in the hardened pile at the end of a storm — and that is equally true of gas single-stage machines.
Cold does reduce the usable capacity of any lithium pack. That is real, and it is manageable: keep the batteries indoors, fit them just before you go out, and leave a second pack charging in the warm while you work. For a typical suburban driveway, a battery machine now replaces gas. For a long rural driveway or a shared lot, gas is still sometimes the simpler answer.
Snow shovel, single-stage or two-stage?
| Format | Which driveway | What it does | Limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Electric snow shovel | Balcony, steps, front walk | Clears small surfaces fast, very light | Narrow path — not a driveway machine |
| Single-stage | One-car driveway, light to moderate snow | One auger picks up and throws in a single motion | Struggles in wet snow and packed ridges |
| Two-stage | Large driveway, heavy snow, plow ridge | Auger feeds an impeller: eats packed snow, throws far | Heavier, and far more expensive once you add packs |
Corded or cordless?
Corded (120 V) is the cheapest way in and it never runs out of charge, but the cord sets your radius and stiffens in deep cold. It suits a short driveway near an outdoor outlet. Cordless buys freedom of movement, instant starting and almost no maintenance — it is the realistic electric route for anything bigger than a short driveway.
The six machines, compared on published specs
Every figure below is the manufacturer’s own, taken from the Amazon.ca listing. Where a listing does not state a number, the table says so rather than guessing.
| Model | Format | Path | Depth | Throw | Motor | Battery |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Greenworks 24V 12-inch snow shovel | Snow shovel, cordless | 12 in | 6 in | 20 ft | 0.75 kW brushless | Tool only |
| Snow Joe SJ623E corded 18-inch | Single-stage, corded 120 V | 18 in | 10 in | Not stated | 15 A | None — corded |
| Greenworks 80V 12-inch snow shovel | Snow shovel, cordless | 12 in | 6 in | 20 ft | 1.2 kW brushless | 2.0 Ah + charger included |
| Greenworks PRO 80V 20-inch | Single-stage, cordless | 20 in | 10 in | 25 ft | 1.4 kW brushless | 2.0 Ah + charger included |
| EGO SNT2130 56V 21-inch | Single-stage, cordless | 21 in | Not stated | 45 ft | Two 56 V batteries (Peak Power) | Tool only |
| Greenworks 80V 24-inch two-stage, self-propelled | Two-stage, self-propelled | 24 in | 20 in | 50 ft | 5 kW brushless | Tool only — holds up to 3 |
Which one for your driveway
Greenworks 24V 12-inch snow shovelSnow shovel, cordless · 12 in pathSteps, a balcony, a walkway to the front door.Watch out: A 12-inch path is not a driveway. Batteries are sold separately.Check price ↗Snow Joe SJ623E corded 18-inchSingle-stage, corded 120 V · 18 in pathA short driveway close to an outdoor outlet, on a tight budget.Watch out: The cord sets your radius and stiffens in deep cold.Check price ↗Greenworks 80V 12-inch snow shovelSnow shovel, cordless · 12 in pathSame job as the 24 V, on the 80 V platform you already own.Watch out: Still a 12-inch path — a complement, not a driveway machine.Check price ↗Greenworks PRO 80V 20-inchSingle-stage, cordless · 20 in pathA one-car driveway in light to moderate snow.Watch out: Greenworks rates it at a 5-car driveway per charge — on the 2.0 Ah battery in the box, plan a spare.Check price ↗EGO SNT2130 56V 21-inchSingle-stage, cordless · 21 in pathA one- to two-car driveway, with heated handle grips.Watch out: Takes two batteries and ships with none. Budget for them.Check price ↗Greenworks 80V 24-inch two-stage, self-propelledTwo-stage, self-propelled · 24 in pathA large driveway and the plow ridge at the end of it.Watch out: The 8-car figure Greenworks quotes assumes three 4.0 Ah batteries, none included.Check price ↗How many batteries do you actually need?
This is the line item that turns a $700 machine into a $1,400 one, and the headline numbers quietly depend on it. Greenworks rates its 80 V 20-inch single-stage at up to a 5-car driveway on a single charge — the box contains one 2.0 Ah pack. Its 24-inch two-stage is rated at an 8-car driveway on a single charge, a figure the listing states is measured with three 4.0 Ah packs; the machine ships tool-only. EGO rates the SNT2130 at up to a 14-car driveway with 8 inches of snow using two 6.0 Ah packs, also sold separately.
None of that is dishonest — the manufacturers state their assumptions. But read the battery line before the runtime line, and price the packs into the decision. The practical rule on a large driveway: a second pack charging indoors while you work is the difference between finishing the storm and waiting for it.
What the American reviews leave out
The pages that currently rank for this search are written by American publications testing in American winters. Three things they rarely account for, and that decide the purchase here:
- The plow ridge. On a street the city plows, the hardest snow you will ever move is the compacted wall left across your entrance — after you have already cleared the driveway. That single obstacle is what separates two-stage from single-stage, more than total snowfall does.
- Storage in an unheated garage. Packs that live at outdoor temperature start every session at reduced capacity. Bringing them inside is free and changes the machine’s effective runtime.
- One battery platform for the whole yard. The same 56 V or 80 V pack runs the mower, the trimmer and the leaf blower. Choosing the platform matters more over five years than choosing this season’s model.
Where to buy in Canada
| Retailer | Strength | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon.ca | Widest selection of EGO, Greenworks and Snow Joe | Buy in summer or early fall — popular models sell out during the first storm |
| Home Depot | Good EGO availability in store | Lets you handle the machine and the packs before buying |
| Canadian Tire | Seasonal range, pre-season promotions | Stock moves fast after the first real snowfall |
| Rona | Cordless category well represented | Ranks first on the national category search for a reason |
| Costco | Machine-plus-batteries bundles | Limited selection, but the bundle is often where the value is |
One electrical note
A cordless snow blower charges from an ordinary 120 V outlet in the garage. For a corded machine — or simply to run tools outdoors safely in winter — a dedicated, properly protected outdoor receptacle beats the extension cord that freezes to the ground. Our French guide covers GFCI protection and where the code requires it.
Frequently asked questions
Are battery snow blowers worth it in Canada?
For a suburban driveway, yes. Cordless two-stage machines now clear the packed ridge a plow leaves at the end of a driveway, they start instantly at −20 °C, and there is no fuel, oil or carburettor to maintain. For a long rural driveway or a shared parking area, gas is still often the simpler answer.
Does cold weather kill a snow blower battery?
Cold reduces the usable capacity of any lithium battery — that part is real. It is also manageable: store the packs indoors, clip them on just before you go out, and keep a second pack charging in the warm while you work. That routine matters more than the brand you buy.
What is the difference between a single-stage and a two-stage snow blower?
A single-stage machine uses one auger that both picks up the snow and throws it, which makes it light and nimble but weak in wet or packed snow. A two-stage machine has an auger that feeds a separate impeller, so it chews through the hard ridge and throws much farther. Two-stage costs more and weighs more.
What size snow blower do I need for my driveway?
Match the clearing width to the number of passes you are willing to make. A 12-inch snow shovel suits steps and walkways. An 18 to 21-inch single-stage suits a one-car driveway. A 24-inch two-stage is for a large driveway or one that catches a plow ridge.
How many batteries does a cordless snow blower need?
Read the box, not the headline. Several of the strongest machines — the EGO SNT2130 and the Greenworks 24-inch two-stage among them — are sold as tool-only and need two or three packs to reach the runtime the manufacturer advertises. Those packs can cost as much as the machine.
Is a corded electric snow blower any good?
For a short driveway within reach of an outdoor outlet, it is the cheapest way in and it never runs out of charge. The trade-off is the cord: it limits your radius and gets stiff in deep cold. It is a format decision, not a quality one.
Can an electric snow blower handle wet heavy snow?
Single-stage machines struggle with very wet snow and with the hardened pile at the end of a storm — this is true whether they are electric or gas. If that is your usual snow, the format to look at is two-stage, not a bigger single-stage.
Where can I buy an electric snow blower in Canada?
Amazon.ca, Home Depot, Canadian Tire, Rona and Costco all carry the category. Buy before the season: the popular models go out of stock during the first real storm, which is exactly when everyone looks.
Keep reading
Same rule, different machine: our guide to the best basement dehumidifiers in Canada explains why the headline pint rating is not the number to compare. Choosing a battery platform rather than a single machine? The same packs run your mower — our French guide compares the cordless mowers sold in Quebec. Planning for winter outages instead? Our guide to the best portable power stations in Canada sizes the battery against the outage, not against the marketing.





