Get a quote

Best Heated Blanket in Canada (2026)

Specs checked November 3, 2026 · Version française

A heated blanket warms a person, not a room, and that is the whole case for owning one through a Canadian winter. The purchase comes down to three questions asked in order: where you want to be warm (the couch, the bed, or somewhere with no outlet), how many people share it, and whether the label carries a certification mark that actually applies in Canada. Brand comes last, and fabric is a matter of taste.

The short answer

  • Couple, queen bed: a dual-control queen blanket. Our first choice is the Sunbeam Royal Posh Velvet.
  • Couple, king bed: a dual-control king, such as the Westinghouse at 100 x 90 in.
  • Cold feet, cold sheets: a heated mattress pad under the fitted sheet instead of a blanket on top.
  • Couch or home office: a 50 x 60 in heated throw with a 4-hour shut-off.
  • No outlet nearby: a cordless battery blanket, with realistic expectations about warmth.

How we picked, and what we did not do: we have not tested these blankets. Every specification on this page is quoted from the manufacturer’s or seller’s own Amazon.ca listing, checked November 3, 2026, and every model was confirmed in stock in Canada that day. Where a listing contradicts itself or leaves something out, we say so. Links to Amazon are affiliate links; BranchéQC may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. We do not publish prices by hand; the Amazon page is what counts.

Throw, twin, queen or king: pick the size of the bed, never smaller

A heated throw is the 50 x 60 in format that lives on the couch. It covers one person sitting or curled up, and the timers on throws are usually short, because they are built for an evening of television rather than a night of sleep. Both Sunbeam throws in this guide shut off after 4 hours.

A bed blanket goes over the top sheet like any other blanket. Size it to the bed and not one size down: the edges that hang over the sides of the mattress carry little or no heat, so a blanket that is too small leaves shoulders or feet in the cold. A queen blanket on a double bed simply drapes a little more; a double blanket on a queen leaves one sleeper half covered. Twin sizes exist too, generally with a single controller, which is right for one sleeper and wrong for two.

Dual controls are the feature that saves marriages, or at least the thermostat argument. Each side of the bed gets its own controller and its own setting. Every queen and king pick below has two. Check the outlets first: two controllers generally means power on both sides of the bed, or a cord long enough to reach across. Sealy, for example, gives its queen blanket a 6 ft power cord and a 10.5 ft controller cord.

FormatTypical useControllersCheck before buying
Throw (about 50 x 60 in)Couch, chair, desk1Timer length, fabric
TwinOne sleeper, older child's roomUsually 1Overhang on the mattress
QueenCouple or one sleeper who likes room2 on the models hereAn outlet on each side
KingCouple2Cord length to both outlets
Mattress padHeat from below1 or 2Exact mattress size, pocket depth

The seven picks, compared on published specs

Every figure below is the one printed on the Amazon.ca listing. Where the listing gives no figure, the table says “not stated” rather than guessing.

ModelFormatSizeControllersHeat levelsAuto shut-offCertification
Sunbeam Royal Posh Velvet, queen, dual controlBed blanket90 x 84 in2121 to 12 h, selectableETL (per listing)
Westinghouse king, dual zone controlBed blanket100 x 90 in2101 to 12 hETL and FCC (per listing)
Sealy heated mattress pad, queen, dual controlMattress padQueen, 17 in deep pocket2101 to 12 hETL and FCC (per listing)
Sunbeam Royal Mink Sherpa heated throwThrow50 x 60 in144 hcETLus (per listing)
Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece heated throwThrow50 x 60 in144 hETL (per listing)
CYCYHEAT cordless battery blanketCordless throw160 x 140 cm13Not statedNot stated
ZonLi 2-in-1 heated weighted blanket, 10 lbHeated weighted60 x 80 in, 10 lb161 to 10 hNot stated

Which one for you

Sunbeam Royal Posh Velvet, queen, dual controlSunbeam Royal Posh Velvet, queen, dual controlBed blanket · 90 x 84 inOur first choice for a couple: one controller per side, 12 heat settings, a backlit display you can read in the dark, and a shut-off timer long enough to cover a full night on a low setting. Sunbeam lists a 5-year limited warranty and a detachable controller for machine washing.Watch out: Two controllers usually means two cords to two outlets, or a cord long enough to cross the bed. Check your nightstands before you order.Check price ↗Westinghouse king, dual zone controlWestinghouse king, dual zone controlBed blanket · 100 x 90 inA king bed shared by one warm sleeper and one cold one. Flannel on one side, sherpa on the other, overheat protection, and the controller unplugs so the blanket can go in the washer.Watch out: Westinghouse writes that the auto shut-off is meant to complement turning it off yourself, not replace it. Take that at face value.Check price ↗Sealy heated mattress pad, queen, dual controlSealy heated mattress pad, queen, dual controlMattress pad · Queen, 17 in deep pocketCold feet and a cold bed at lights out. It goes under the fitted sheet and heats from below, so you keep your usual duvet on top. The 17-inch pocket is deep enough for most thick mattresses.Watch out: Washing means stripping the bed. Do not run it under a heated blanket at the same time; one heat source per bed.Check price ↗Sunbeam Royal Mink Sherpa heated throwSunbeam Royal Mink Sherpa heated throwThrow · 50 x 60 inThe couch, the reading chair or a cold basement office. Mink on top, sherpa underneath, overheat protection, and the one listing in this guide that names the Canadian version of the certification mark outright. The listing says it is machine washable and dryer safe once the controller is off.Watch out: A 50 x 60 in throw covers one person sitting down, not a bed. The 4-hour timer is built for an evening, not a night.Check price ↗Sunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece heated throwSunbeam Royal Ultra Fleece heated throwThrow · 50 x 60 inThe budget way in. Same size, same four settings and same 4-hour shut-off as the Mink Sherpa, in a simpler fleece. Detachable controller, machine washable, 5-year limited warranty according to Sunbeam.Watch out: The listing speaks of “advanced safety features” without naming overheat protection the way the Mink Sherpa listing does. Read the label in the box.Check price ↗CYCYHEAT cordless battery blanketCYCYHEAT cordless battery blanketCordless throw · 160 x 140 cmArena bleachers, a cold car, a cottage with no power, a bonfire in October. It ships with a 20,000 mAh, 7.4 V battery pack, and the seller gives run times of about 4 to 4.5 hours on high, 6 to 6.5 on medium and 11 to 11.5 on low.Watch out: The heating elements sit over the neck, back, waist and hands, not the whole blanket. The listing gives two different numbers for the low setting (115 °F and 113 °F), names no safety certification, and says the warmth is most noticeable in enclosed spaces. Not one to sleep under.Check price ↗ZonLi 2-in-1 heated weighted blanket, 10 lbZonLi 2-in-1 heated weighted blanket, 10 lbHeated weighted · 60 x 80 in, 10 lbSomeone who already likes a weighted blanket and wants heat on top. The weighted insert snaps out, so it works as a heated blanket alone, a weighted blanket alone, or both together, and the heated shell goes in a laundry bag in the washer.Watch out: Expensive compared with everything else here, and the title and bullets name no safety certification at all. Look for a cETL, cUL or CSA mark on the label before the first use.Check price ↗

Sunbeam and the other brands

Sunbeam is the name most people type next to “heated blanket”, and its listings are among the most complete: heat settings, timer, warranty and certification all stated. Three of our seven picks carry the name, and the Royal Mink Sherpa throw is the only listing here that spells out the Canadian cETLus mark. The Sunbeam electric blanket range on Amazon.ca runs from a simple fleece throw to the velvet queen, and the three Sunbeam listings we read all state a 5-year limited warranty.

Sealy and Westinghouse both sell flannel-to-sherpa blankets with 10 heat levels and a 1 to 12 hour shut-off. Sealy makes the mattress pad in this guide; Westinghouse also sells a 62 x 84 in twin with a single controller. Their listings name ETL and FCC. A long tail of smaller brands sells on Amazon.ca as well, some with complete listings and some with none of the safety information you need. Judge every one of them on the same checklist rather than on the logo: certification mark, auto shut-off, number of controllers, detachable controller, and care instructions.

Safety: what the label must show

  1. A certification mark that applies in Canada. CSA, cUL or cULus, cETL or cETLus. The small “c” is the part that matters. A listing title that says “ETL” alone does not tell you which version you are getting; the sewn-in label does.
  2. Auto shut-off. Never sleep under a blanket without one. Westinghouse’s own listing is a useful reminder that the timer complements switching it off yourself.
  3. Overheat protection. Several listings here name it explicitly. If yours does not, look for it in the manual.
  4. No folding, tucking or bunching while it is on. Folds concentrate heat on the wires. Most manuals say not to tuck the blanket under the mattress and not to pile heavy objects on it.
  5. Not for babies, small children, or anyone who cannot remove it or feel heat properly. If you have a medical condition that affects circulation or sensation, ask your doctor first.
  6. One heat source per bed. Do not combine a heated blanket with a heated mattress pad.
  7. Pets and cords. Keep cords away from a dog or cat that chews, and do not run the cord under the mattress where it gets crushed.
  8. Inspect every fall. A discoloured patch, an exposed wire or a controller that runs hot means replace, not repair.

How to wash a heated blanket

Yes, you can wash most heated blankets, and the people asking “can you wash a heated blanket” are right to ask, because the answer depends on the label. Here is what the manufacturers of the models in this guide actually write, step by step:

  1. Unplug and detach the controller. Every washable model here says this first. The controller never goes in water.
  2. Gentle cycle, cool water. Sealy specifies slow agitation and a low spin on its queen blanket, and water under 30 °C on its mattress pad.
  3. No bleach, no dry cleaning, no ironing. Sealy prints all three in capitals.
  4. Dry as the label says. Sunbeam calls the Mink Sherpa throw dryer safe. ZonLi says to follow the care label for drying, and to wash its heated shell in a laundry bag after removing the weighted insert.
  5. Completely dry before you plug it back in. Sealy is explicit: do not power it up while damp.

Not every heated blanket is washable. At least one king-size listing we read asks for spot cleaning or gentle hand washing and tells you to avoid the machine and the dryer altogether. If the listing does not say “machine washable”, assume it is not until the manual says otherwise.

Cordless and battery operated heated blankets

A cordless heated blanket runs on a rechargeable battery pack, usually tucked into a pocket. It is the answer for places without an outlet: hockey bleachers, a tailgate, a cottage with the power off, a long drive. Set your expectations accordingly. A battery delivers far less power than a wall outlet, so the warmth is gentler and the run time shrinks on the high setting. The CYCYHEAT in this guide is a fair example of the honest numbers: about 4 hours on high, about 11 on low, and 5 to 6 hours to recharge.

Two things to check on any battery operated heated blanket. First, whether the battery is included: many listings that say “cordless” are really USB blankets that need a power bank sold separately. Second, where the heat actually is. Battery blankets often heat zones rather than the whole surface. For sleeping through the night, a plug-in model with an auto shut-off remains the right tool.

Heated weighted blankets

A heated weighted blanket combines the calming pressure of a weighted blanket with an electric heating layer. The better designs make the weight removable, which matters for two reasons: you can wash the heated shell without wrestling with glass beads, and you can drop the weight on a mild night. The ZonLi pick does exactly that, and comes in several sizes and weights. The trade-offs are price, bulk, and in the listing we checked, no certification named anywhere. If you buy one, the label check in the safety section is not optional.

What it costs to run, honestly

None of the listings we read for this guide states a wattage in its title or feature bullets, so we will not invent one. The figure is on the label sewn into the blanket or in the manual. With it, the arithmetic is simple: watts x hours ÷ 1,000 = kilowatt-hours, then multiply by the rate on your electricity bill, which varies a great deal from one province to the next.

The comparison that matters is with the alternative. A typical plug-in space heater is rated 1,500 W and has to warm every cubic metre of air in the room before it warms you. A heated blanket only has to warm the pocket of air under the covers, which is why it is typically rated at a small fraction of a heater’s wattage. Read your own label to put a number on it. The real saving is indirect: with a blanket on a low setting, you can turn the bedroom thermostat down overnight without anyone waking up cold. Pre-heat on high for a few minutes before bed, then drop to low or switch it off once you are under the covers.

What the American reviews leave out

  • The Canadian mark. American round-ups treat “ETL listed” or “UL listed” as the end of the conversation. In Canada, the version that counts carries a “c”, and only one listing in this guide states it in so many words.
  • Imports built for other markets. Amazon.ca sells blankets from sellers who also ship to Europe and Asia. A blanket designed for another voltage or plug is not something to adapt; it should not be in your bed.
  • The cold basement bedroom. Plenty of Canadian homes have a bedroom or office below grade that never quite warms up. A heated throw at the desk or a mattress pad in the guest bed solves it without a heater running all evening.
  • Winter outages. During a power failure a plug-in blanket is just a blanket. A cordless model with a charged battery, or a power station, keeps one person warm for hours.

Where to buy a heated blanket in Canada

RetailerStrengthNote
Amazon.caWidest range: throws, king dual control, mattress pads, cordless, weightedListings vary in completeness; read the certification line
Canadian TireSeasonal range of throws and bed blanketsStock varies by store; check online before you drive
CostcoOccasional large-size and pad deals in seasonSmall, rotating selection
WalmartBudget throwsCompare size and controller count, not just the price tag

Wherever you shop, compare like with like: the same size, the same number of controllers, and the same certification mark.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best heated blanket?

The one that matches where you want to be warm. For a couple in a queen bed, a dual-control blanket such as the Sunbeam Royal Posh Velvet, with 12 heat settings and a selectable shut-off of up to 12 hours. For a king, the Westinghouse dual zone model. For the couch, a 50 x 60 in throw like the Sunbeam Royal Mink Sherpa. Whatever the format, insist on an auto shut-off, a detachable controller and a certification mark recognised in Canada.

Can you wash a heated blanket?

Most recent ones, yes, but only the way the label says. Every machine-washable model in this guide asks you to unplug and detach the controller first. Sealy's listings add a gentle cycle, water under 30 °C, no bleach, no dry cleaning, no ironing, and no use until the blanket is completely dry. Not every model is washable: at least one king-size listing we read asks for spot cleaning or hand washing only.

How do you wash an electric blanket without damaging it?

Detach the controller and the power cord, wash on a gentle cycle in cool water if the label asks for it (Sealy says under 30 °C), and dry it the way the label says, which for some models means the dryer and for others means laying it flat. Never bleach or dry clean it, and never plug it back in while it is damp.

Is it safe to sleep with a heated blanket on?

A recent, certified model with an auto shut-off, used as the manual says, is designed for it. Do not fold it, tuck it under the mattress or pile heavy things on it while it is on, do not combine it with a heated mattress pad, and retire it when the cord or controller shows wear. It is not for babies, small children or anyone who cannot remove it or feel the heat properly.

What certification should a heated blanket have in Canada?

A mark from a certification body accredited in Canada, with the Canadian indicator: CSA, cUL or cULus, cETL or cETLus. A listing that only says “ETL” does not tell you whether the Canadian certification applies. The label on the blanket itself is what settles it.

Do cordless heated blankets get as warm as plug-in ones?

No. A battery delivers far less power than a wall outlet, so a cordless blanket warms rather than heats, and the run time drops on the high setting. The CYCYHEAT in this guide quotes about 4 hours on high and about 11 on low. Great for bleachers and camping, not a replacement for a plug-in model in bed.

Does a heated blanket use a lot of electricity?

Very little compared with heating the room. Multiply the wattage on the label by the hours of use and divide by 1,000 to get kilowatt-hours, then multiply by your rate. A typical plug-in space heater is rated 1,500 W; a heated blanket rated at a small fraction of that will use a small fraction of the energy for the same hours.

Heated blanket or heated mattress pad?

A pad sits under the fitted sheet and heats from below: it does not slide off and adds no weight, but washing means stripping the bed. A blanket goes on top and is easier to wash. Both come in dual-control versions. Pick one, since manufacturers generally say not to use them together.

Keep reading

Warming a whole room rather than one person? Our guides to the best electric fireplaces in Canada and the best space heaters in Canada cover the other side of the comparison. Dry winter air making the bedroom uncomfortable? See the best humidifiers in Canada. And for the driveway after the storm, the best electric and battery snow blowers in Canada.

Summarize this article with AI
Opens your AI of choice with the summary pre-filled.