Best Heated Vest and Heated Jacket in Canada (2026)
Specs checked November 4, 2026 · Version française
Most heated vest regrets come from the box, not the heat: a Milwaukee or DeWalt garment with no battery, a jacket so loose the elements never touch you, a runtime that only holds on low. Get the battery, the format and the fit right and almost any of the garments below will change a long day outside.
The short answer
- No tool batteries at home: buy a garment sold with its own battery. The ORORO heated puffer vest for men, or the ORORO quilted vest for women.
- One garment to wear on its own: the ORORO 4-zone heated jacket with a detachable hood.
- Already on Milwaukee M12: the M12 Heated AXIS vest kit, which includes a battery and charger.
- Already on DeWalt 20V Max or 12V Max: the DeWalt heated hoodie, sold bare, which runs on the packs you own.
- Ice fishing or long stationary days: the biggest battery you can find, plus a second one kept warm in an inside pocket.
How we picked, and what we did not do: we have not worn or tested these garments. Every specification on this page is quoted from the product’s own Amazon.ca title or feature list, checked November 4, 2026, and every pick was in stock in Canada that day. Where a listing is vague or contradicts itself, we say so. Links to Amazon are affiliate links; BranchéQC may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. We do not publish prices by hand, so the button says “Check price” and the Amazon page is what counts.
Heated vest or heated jacket?
On a listing, “vest” means sleeveless, “jacket” or “coat” means sleeves, and “hoodie” means a sweatshirt cut with a hood. The choice is less about warmth than about where the garment sits in your layers.
A heated vest is the more flexible buy. It warms the torso, leaves the arms free to shovel, hold handlebars or work a rod, and slides under the winter coat, snowmobile jacket or bib overalls you already own.
A heated jacket is for the days you want one garment and nothing else: a commute, a walk with the dog, errands when it is cold but not brutal. The two ORORO jackets that came up in our checks are softshells, water and wind resistant according to their listings. A softshell is generally less insulated than a down winter coat, and the heat stops when the battery does, so in deep cold treat it as a layer too.
One thing none of the seven listings below advertises is a heating zone in the sleeves. Even the jacket and the hoodie heat the core. If your arms are what gets cold, the answer is a well-insulated coat on top, and for hands, a pair of heated gloves or mitts.
Battery included, or a tool battery you already own
Battery included (ORORO, CKARTIC). The garment arrives with its own rechargeable pack. The ORORO batteries in this guide are 7.27 to 7.4V units of 4,800 or 6,800 mAh, most of them charged over USB-C, and most double as a power bank with a USB port for your phone. Everything is in the box. The catch: a second battery has to be bought in that brand’s format, and ORORO lists no wall charger in the box, only the cable.
Tool-battery platforms (Milwaukee M12, DeWalt 20V Max and 12V Max). For the trades, the vest runs on the same packs as the drill already in the truck. The listing title tells you what is in the box:
- “Bare” means no battery and no charger. The DeWalt DCHJ067B hoodie below is sold this way.
- “Kit” means it ships with power. The Milwaukee M12 Heated AXIS vest below is listed as a kit with battery and charger.
- Nothing stated is common. Several Milwaukee M12 Toughshell jacket listings we checked on Amazon.ca did not say whether a battery was included, and the ones with the most detail were scarce or on back-order. Read the full description before you order.
If you own several batteries from one platform, buy that brand’s garment; if you own none, buy one with its battery included. Either way, use only the battery the garment maker specifies; no homemade adapters and no packs from another brand.
Heating zones: where the heat actually goes
The zone count says little without the locations, and more zones share the same battery. The CKARTIC lists 15, the Milwaukee 2; that is not a ranking.
- Back. Every pick states a back zone except the DeWalt hoodie, whose listing says only “3 core heating zones”. The back is the panel pressed against you when you sit on a snowmobile seat, a bucket on the ice or a bleacher.
- Chest. The side facing the wind on a snow blower or a sled. The Milwaukee heats chest and back, each with its own setting; the CKARTIC adjusts chest and back separately too.
- Collar. Welcome on the back of the neck when wind finds the gap. Three of the four ORORO picks have one.
- Pockets. They warm your hands between tasks. They do not replace gloves when you are actually holding a shovel.
Runtime on low versus high: reading the numbers
Milwaukee’s listing is the most useful one in this guide because it gives all three settings: 8 hours on low, 4 on medium and 2 on high. That ratio is the thing to remember. The “up to 10 hours” on an ORORO listing, or “up to 13.5 hours” on its larger battery, is a best case; ORORO’s puffer vest listing confirms its 10 hours are on low.
To compare batteries across brands, compare watt-hours, which is volts times amp-hours. ORORO’s 7.38V, 4,800 mAh pack works out to about 35.4 Wh, a figure the brand prints itself on one listing. Its 6,800 mAh pack is stated at 49.4 Wh, roughly 40 percent more energy. The CKARTIC’s 10,000 mAh cannot be compared to either, because its listing gives no voltage.
Charging is cheap. As a transparent example: a full charge of a 35.4 Wh battery is 0.0354 kWh. At an example rate of 10 cents per kWh, that is about a third of a cent, before charging losses.
Cold also reduces what a lithium battery delivers. Warm up on high indoors and drop to low outside, keep the battery in an inside pocket, carry a spare for a full day, and let a cold battery reach room temperature before charging it.
The seven garments, compared on published specs
Every figure below comes from the product’s own Amazon.ca listing. Where a listing gives no number, the table says so instead of guessing.
| Model | Format | Battery | Zones | Stated runtime |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ORORO men's 4-zone heated jacket, detachable hood | Softshell jacket, men | Included: 7.38V, 4,800 mAh, UL/CE certified, USB-C | 4: collar, both pockets, mid-back · 3 settings | Up to 10 h |
| ORORO men's heated puffer vest, 4 zones | Puffer vest, men | Included: 7.38V, 4,800 mAh, UL certified, USB-C | 4: collar, mid-back, both pockets · 3 settings | Up to 10 h on low |
| ORORO women's heated quilted vest, 4 zones | Quilted vest, women | Included: 7.4V, 4,800 mAh, USB-C | 4: upper back, mid-back, both front pockets · 3 settings | Up to 10 h |
| ORORO men's lightweight heated vest, up to 13.5 h | Puffer vest, men | Included: 7.27V, 6,800 mAh (49.4 Wh) | 4: collar, mid-back, both pockets · 3 settings | Up to 13.5 h, depending on setting |
| CKARTIC men's heated vest, 15 zones, 10,000 mAh | Vest, men | Included: 10,000 mAh, voltage not stated | 15: back, shoulders, neck, both pockets · 3 levels up to 149 °F | Not stated |
| Milwaukee M12 Heated AXIS vest, kit with battery and charger | Ripstop vest, work | Kit: M12 battery and charger included | 2: chest and back · 3 settings per zone | 8 h low, 4 h medium, 2 h high |
| DeWalt DCHJ067B heated hoodie, bare | Hoodie, work | Bare: no battery, no charger · DeWalt 20V Max or 12V Max | 3 core zones · LED controller, 3 settings | Depends on your battery; not stated |
Which one for you
ORORO men's 4-zone heated jacket, detachable hoodSoftshell jacket, men · Up to 10 hThe default heated jacket for commuting, shovelling and errands: water and wind resistant shell, detachable hood, USB port on the battery.Watch out: A softshell is not a parka. On a properly cold day it is a layer under your winter coat, not a replacement for it. The link opens size M; pick yours on the listing.Check price ↗ORORO men's heated puffer vest, 4 zonesPuffer vest, men · Up to 10 h on lowThe default heated vest: worn over a sweater or under a winter coat, with the arms free. The listing is one of the few that says outright the 10 hours are on the low setting.Watch out: No wall charger in the box, only the charging cable. Any USB charger you already own will do.Check price ↗ORORO women's heated quilted vest, 4 zonesQuilted vest, women · Up to 10 hA women's cut that sits close enough to actually warm you: 14 oz, FELLEX insulation certified by bluesign, a two-way zipper and a cinched waist.Watch out: No sleeves and no collar zone. In real cold it goes under a coat, not on its own.Check price ↗ORORO men's lightweight heated vest, up to 13.5 hPuffer vest, men · Up to 13.5 h, depending on settingLong days standing still: ice fishing, a tailgate, a jobsite with no break room. It carries the biggest stated battery of the ORORO picks here.Watch out: The listing does not say which setting the 13.5 hours is measured on. Assume low.Check price ↗CKARTIC men's heated vest, 15 zones, 10,000 mAhVest, men · Not statedThe budget pick: battery in the box, chest and back adjusted separately, machine washable according to the listing.Watch out: The listing is loose: a heading says 3-zone control where the text means 3 heat levels, and the title says water resistant while a bullet says waterproof. Check the battery certification on the listing.Check price ↗Milwaukee M12 Heated AXIS vest, kit with battery and chargerRipstop vest, work · 8 h low, 4 h medium, 2 h highTradespeople on M12: the battery fits the tools you own, and the pass-thru pocket puts it front or back. Washer and dryer safe per the listing.Watch out: Two zones only, and no pocket heat. The listing does not state the capacity of the included battery. The link opens size Large.Check price ↗DeWalt DCHJ067B heated hoodie, bareHoodie, work · Depends on your battery; not statedAnyone who already owns DeWalt 20V Max or 12V Max packs. A USB power source on the hoodie charges a phone from the same battery.Watch out: Bare means bare: no battery and no charger in the box. Without DeWalt packs at home, budget for both on top of the garment. The listing does not say where the 3 zones sit.Check price ↗Sizing: buy for the layer underneath
A heating element only warms you if it sits close to your body, which is why a proper women’s cut such as the ORORO quilted vest beats a loose unisex one.
- Measure your chest over the base layer or thin sweater you will actually wear under it.
- Use the size chart on the listing; sizes vary from one brand to the next.
- Aim for a close fit on a vest, then check that your winter coat still zips over it.
- Each link opens one specific size (S, M, L or XL). Change it on the listing before you order.
Washing and care
Most heated garments can go in the machine if you follow the label. Remove the battery every time and zip the connector into its pocket. Use a gentle cycle in cold water with a mild detergent, skip dry cleaning and ironing, and let the garment dry completely before you reconnect the battery. ORORO states its jacket’s heating elements are designed for more than 50 machine wash cycles, and Milwaukee lists the AXIS vest as washer and dryer safe. Inspect the cable and connector each fall.
Safety rules worth keeping
- Never sleep with a heated garment switched on, including a nap in the ice shack.
- Keep a thin layer between skin and elements. The CKARTIC lists up to 149 °F on high; if your skin reddens, turn it down.
- Diabetes, poor circulation, numbness or pregnancy: ask a health professional before use, because reduced sensation means you may not feel a hot spot.
- Charge on a hard surface, away from anything that burns, and not unattended overnight. A swollen or cracked battery gets replaced, not used.
What the American reviews leave out
- The bus stop at minus 25 °C. On the days that matter here, a heated jacket is a mid layer under a real winter coat, which is why a vest is often the smarter first buy.
- Ice fishing is a runtime problem. Hours without moving, far from an outlet. The stated battery size and a warm spare matter more than the number of zones.
- Outdoor work all winter. Trades on an open site in January are who the M12 and DeWalt platforms are built for: one set of batteries for tools and vest.
- Outages. A winter storm that takes the power out is when a USB-C rechargeable vest is worth having charged. A power bank or a portable power station can keep the battery going for days.
Where to buy in Canada
| Retailer | Strength | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon.ca | Widest range: USB-C battery vests, Milwaukee and DeWalt kits and bare units | Check the size, the cut and whether the battery is included |
| Home Depot, RONA | Milwaukee and DeWalt garments | Compare the bare version and the kit side by side |
| Mark's (L'Équipeur in Quebec) | Workwear chain | May carry heated clothing in season; check online |
| Canadian Tire | Seasonal range | Selection varies from store to store |
| Costco | Occasional seasonal lots | We did not check any model or price at Costco for this guide |
Frequently asked questions
Is a heated vest or a heated jacket better?
A vest is the more flexible buy for most Canadians: it warms the torso, leaves the arms free and fits under the winter coat you already own. A heated jacket makes sense when you want one garment to wear on its own on a cool, dry day, for commuting or errands. In deep cold, both end up as a layer under something that blocks the wind.
Does a Milwaukee heated jacket come with a battery?
It depends on the listing, and the title is where you find out. Milwaukee and DeWalt sell the same garment either bare (no battery, no charger) or as a kit. The Milwaukee M12 Heated AXIS vest in this guide is a kit with battery and charger; several M12 Toughshell jacket listings we checked on Amazon.ca did not say what was included, so read the full description before ordering.
Can I power a heated vest with a regular USB power bank?
You can recharge a USB-C battery such as ORORO's from a power bank, which is handy at a cottage or during an outage. Powering the vest directly from a generic 5V bank is a different matter: ORORO's battery runs at about 7.4V, so only do it if the manufacturer says the garment supports it.
What size heated vest should I buy?
Size for the layer you will wear underneath. Measure your chest over a base layer or a thin sweater, compare with the size chart on the listing, and aim for a close fit: heating elements only warm you if they sit near your body. Then check that your winter coat still closes over it.
Are heated vests safe?
Used as intended, yes. Keep a thin layer between your skin and the elements, never sleep with one switched on, use only the battery the garment maker specifies, and stop using any battery that is swollen or cracked. People with diabetes, circulation problems or reduced sensation should ask a health professional first.
Keep reading
A vest heats the core, not the fingers: our guide to the best heated gloves and mitts in Canada applies the same battery rules to your hands. For the couch rather than the ice, see the best heated blankets in Canada. And if you want your vest charged through the next storm, our guide to the best portable power stations in Canada explains how many watt-hours you actually need.







